Kaarin Fairfax

Kaarin Fairfax is an Australian actress, director and musician. She joined me for a Coffee Break to chat about her current show Next Fall which is currently being staged  at Chapel off Chapel until 30 July, 2017.

What role do you play and can tell me a bit about your character?
Arlene is the mom to Luke, the central story character. She is from Tallahassee in Florida and has a bit of a wild and unruly past.

Who are the cast members of “Next Fall”?
Darrin Redgate, Mark Davis, Sharon Davis, Paul Robertson and James Biasetto. It is one of the strongest companies I have worked with.

NextFall_CastOutdoorWhat would you like audiences to take away for the play “Next Fall”?
If there is an opportunity to question and discard old beliefs and ways of thinking and start to see people as individual and wonderful- I’d love that!

Can you tell me why you established The Little Theatre Company in Frankston?
My children designed the model for a school project and I thought it was a great idea to follow it through…It enabled me and the team to provide young individuals on the Mornington Peninsula an opportunity to work with professionals in the entertainment industry. I have lots of great artist friends and wanted to be able to create a mentorship situation, and provide a fun experience for all of us.

The Little Theatre Company is now in Melbourne with a new home to be announced very soon!

Kaarin, did you enjoy starring and co-directing the film StalkHer?
I loved it. What a gift. I was part of the writing process with Kris Maric then working closely with John Jarrat throughout was just blissful. I was the happiest I could be turning up on set to film every day.

Are you are able to tell me more about your music career?
Look the career part of that is a funny one. I am asked constantly to sing as the character I am playing. In the last 3 films I have sung songs….I adore it!

Fellow actor Kerry Armstrong and yourself are involved in training at 16th Street Actors Studio. Are you able to tell me more about this?
Kerry was my teacher for a couple of terms. It was great to get back in the room and hone my acting skills. There is nothing like doing it live every night in front of an audience, that will get ya blood pumping and your heart racing.

Kaarin Fairfax03What are some of your highlights of your career so far?
I have so many projects I have been in that I adore. I cannot list them for fear of running out of space. I have been, and continue to be, challenged and thrilled by everything I do. I feel grateful and blessed to be able to spend my days doing what I deeply love.

As an Australian actor you have to be diverse, do you have a preference between directing or performing?
Each of these skills is very different but they both inform the other and help to have a cohesive understanding of the craft and artistry of creating stories.
I love them both and for me it depends on the project as to which way I will go as an actor or a director.

Do you have any hobbies?
Walking, reading, seeing music, theatre and film. I collect rocks and crystals.

What is your favourite food?
I eat pretty healthily..today. I will say avocado with egg. Yum!

Do you have a favourite movie?
Again, different movies at different times of my life create an impact. I love movies that stretch my imagination and thinking.

Kaarin02

What is your idea of a good holiday?
Beach or bush or something spiritual!

What is the last album you listened to?
My daughter Memphis has an outfit called Saatsuma, I got a chance to listen to a pre release.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what items would you take with you?
Coconut oil…or maybe I could make it there!

Is there anything which you don’t you leave home without?
My keys.

What’s next for Kaarin Fairfax?
I have a few wonderfully written short films to act in over the next few months 3 plays and I am off to a writing retreat in Bali so watch out I have a few big projects on the go.

Kaarin Fairfax is performing in Next Fall at the Chapel off Chapel until 30 July. 

Leave a Reply

